top of page
Writer's pictureMOHD EZLI MASHUT

Here’s How Nur Afifah Earns Even When She Is Sleeping!




Nur Afifah is 27 years old and she has found a way to make money even while she sleeps. Being an influencer who uses affiliate marketing to earn money, Nur Afifah shares lifestyle and beauty products to her followers on social media platforms.

With just two social media accounts which are Instagram with a whopping 54.8k followers and Twitter with 19.4k followers, she has managed to earn more than RM30,000 since she started affiliate marketing with ACCESSTRADE Malaysia in March 2019.


We had an opportunity to talk to her about her amazing journey with us and she has some great insights, tips and tricks about affiliate marketing as one of the top publishers of ACCESSTRADE Malaysia.


Here’s how Nur Afifah started her journey as an affiliate marketer…





Why did you start affiliate marketing?

I wanted to make a side income because I’m a freelancer and my income is not fixed.

I’ve read success stories on the internet how affiliate marketing can help to generate money and earn a passive income. Passive income is crucial for freelancers like me. It’s great that I can do this in my free time and generate money even while sleeping!


Can you share a little bit about how you got started with affiliate marketing and when you started?

My journey started when I signed up as a Shopee Ambassador but I was not aware of how it worked then. It took me a while to finally understand it, mainly because I didn’t reach out and was occupied with other stuff. A year later, I came across a tweet on how to do it and I started right away. It took off really well and I managed to build strong branding among my followers and gain their trust.


What was interesting about affiliate marketing?

Affiliate marketing is really interesting to me because it’s something new. Technology and tools are constantly evolving so it’s really important for me to learn and adapt.

It’s fascinating to know that you can earn money just by sharing links. You can use the exposure that you have and promote the stuffs that you like. It’s a win-win situation. It might be slow progress at first but once you get the hang of it, you’ll be better.


How did you first find out about affiliate marketing?

Through Instagram, a lot of brands nowadays do affiliate marketing. So, whenever anyone purchases items from the links I share, I’ll get a certain amount of money in return.


Were you worried that it might be a scam?

Yes, because it’s something new. Some websites and brands are not very transparent on how the links work so that’s a turn-off. You can’t track your progress, so it’s hard to keep track.


Did you manage to influence your friends or family to join affiliate marketing?

Yes, I managed to influence my friends and family by letting them know that affiliate marketing is really easy. It just takes a little time, effort and strategy.


How does a day in the life of an affiliate marketer looks like?





How has your life changed since starting affiliate marketing?

A lot. I’ve noticed that I managed to build a brand/niche within my social media. Whenever my followers need my opinion or help, they let me know. They also request products for me to try first and let them know what I think about it. In a way, they trust my reviews and opinions.


How does your regular day look like?

Pretty packed but I am handling it. Sometimes, I work on the weekends too so it’s really hard to juggle everything but you know, work is work. Every job has its pros and cons, all jobs have different hardships and struggles. So, it’s important to find what works for you. You always need to find a balance especially when your work involves social media. You need to learn to take a break, have a limit on your screen time. It can take a toll on you physically and mentally if you’re overdoing it.


How do you create content to promote the products?

I believe in being myself. That’s why I like to share products that I personally use, have tried, and tested.


After that, I take some photos and share what I like about the products. I go into detail or create short content depending on the type of social media I am using.


For example, if I am promoting on YouTube, I will go a little more detailed.


For Twitter and Instagram, I will use photos that will attract people and use captions that are easy to understand.


I also engage with my followers if they have any questions or need any help. This helps me to build and maintain a connection with them.


How has affiliate marketing helped Nur Afifah achieve her goals?



How is affiliate marketing helping you in terms of career and finances?

A few brands that I’ve promoted started reaching out personally and asked me to review their products. I shared it on all my social media and used my affiliate marketing platform to generate the links, therefore earning additional income.


Do you see yourself doing affiliate marketing in the long run or is it a short stint?

I do see myself doing this for the long run because I’ve seen the results. It’s also easy to track my progress and see what’s trending. I always need to be aware and quick, jump on the right opportunity to promote the products. I also love that I can do this in my own free time.


What are the challenges you faced when you first joined affiliate marketing?

The challenge is not knowing how it worked at first. When you don’t know how it works, it’s really hard to understand it. The good thing about it is that you can learn!

Once I got the hang of it and finally understood, it became easy.


Another thing is trying to find products that your followers might enjoy. It’s hard at first but I learnt that if you stick to what you like and keep track of your progress, you will see a pattern. You can use it to find other products that are similar or the same categories, therefore you can use it to your advantage.


What are the new challenges you are facing now?

Finding the right time to promote and juggling it with my current job. Sometimes when I’m busy, I don’t have the time to promote the links as much as I want to.


Right now, I’m trying to find a balance so that I can post more links in the future.


How have you benefitted by joining ACCESSTRADE MY?

I’ve learnt a lot and it has provided me with opportunities to work with many brands. It opened up doors and, in a way, made my social media channel grow. Without it, I wouldn’t even know that you can promote links to generate income.


Here are Nur Afifah’s tips for aspiring affiliate marketers…


What are your tips to remain relevant and active on the social media platform?

1. Keep posting on your social media, share and interact with your followers.

2. Create content that is unique and interesting so that people can engage with you.

3. Find your niche and use it to your advantage. If you like dressing up, share it. If you love decorating, share it. There’s going to be an audience for it, you just have to find the right one.

4. Talk to your followers. Don’t be arrogant and always keep your social media a positive and safe space.


What do you think is the key to be a successful affiliate marketer?

The key is to adapt and learn. Whenever you encounter a new challenge, you either learn new ideas and behaviours, or you fail to survive. That’s why it’s important to have this ability. Adapting to change is what keeps you relevant, valuable and successful.


What advice would you give to those people who want to take a leap of faith but is reluctant about trying something new like affiliate marketing?

Be yourself. Share what you like. Start slowly. Trust your instincts and keep on learning and adapting. It might be scary and you might be hesitant to try something new at first, but you’ll never know unless you try.


I know it’s cliche but there’s some truth to it. Take a leap of faith, step out of your comfort zone, and try it first, find what works for you. If it doesn’t work out, try again. Success doesn’t come overnight.


If you are curious to see how well she is doing as ACCESSTRADE Malaysia’s affiliate marketer, here are Nur Afifah’s social media platforms



ACCESSTRADE MY is an affiliate marketing platform where you can choose top brands and products to promote to your followers. An established affiliate marketing platform like ACCESSTRADE MY will connect you to several brands at a time.


As a result, you will be able to generate income from many campaigns and benefit from having a streamlined platform.


For more info, visit https://accesstrade.global/my/ or register at https://bit.ly/3cy7DJz

44 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page